The Michigan Junior Masters Association kicked off its 2016-17 season in the familiar confines of Lodge Lanes in Belleville, Michigan on Saturday, August 6th. The 71 guys and girls showed up eager to build on performances at the recently completed IBC Junior Gold Championships and get the new year started off with good performances here in Belleville.

Taking advantage of their recent experience on the boys U20 Advancers pattern from the national tournament at Western Bowl, Ryan Winters and Kyle McGrath led the scoring pace in qualifying for the guys shooting 1239 and 1208 respectively for their 6 games. The ladies were led by Makayla Lancioni who shot a wonderful 1206 to lead the ladies into the two-game, total pins, single elimination bracket round.

The ladies side saw the higher seeds advance out of round one with Candyce Bradley, the #3 seed, and Allison Morris, the #4 seed, each winning their matches to advance to the semi-finals. The pattern did not hold true in the second round however as Samantha Gainor, the #2 seed, was beaten by Bradley but Lancioni came back in her match to win and keep the #1 seed going into the finals.

Bradley did not let up off the gas in the finals as she built a 20 pin lead after game one. Lancioni made a furious comeback in game two and threw a five-bagger to close her game and force Bradley to strike on the first ball in the tenth to have a chance at the victory. Bradley calmly threw the first two strikes in the tenth and took home her very first MJMA title with a 340-329 two game total victory.

The guys side did anything but hold to form however. Two of the higher seeds in round one got knocked out as the #12 seed Jordan Nunn and the #10 seed Jacob Kersten upset the higher seeds to advance to the quarterfinals. There more upsets were set to happen. Kertsen and Nunn both pulled off another upset by knocking out the #1 seed, Ryan Winters, and the #4 seed Cody Johnston. Alex Ouellette, the #3 seed, and Kyle McGrath, the #2 seed, both won their matches to advance to the semi finals.

Nunn’s streak ended at the hands of Kersten in the semi-finals and McGrath ended Ouellette’s day as well to set up a #2 versus #10 in the finals. Kersten got off to a great start in game one of the finals posting a 231 game to take a significant lead going into game two. McGrath tried coming back in game two but Kersten had an answer for anything he threw at him and coasted to his second MJMA title with a 455-373 win.

Something new this year for MJMA is a U15 division and the Belleville event had the very forst competition for this division. Three male bowlers were in attendance for the event and after the six game qualifier, Jacob Johnson and Zakarey Geer earned a spot in the two-game championship match by being the top two finishers. Johnson opened a early lead after game one and then extended it as his confidence on the tough pattern seemed to grow. Geer fought hard to come back but it was just not enough as Johnson posted the very forst U15 division title for MJMA with a 361-301 win.

Our next event will be held in Clarkston, Michigan at the house where it all began 31 years ago, Cherry Hill Lanes North. Qualifying will begin on Saturday, August 27th beginning at 11:00AM with check-in starting at 9:30AM with match play on Sunday, August 28th starting at 9:00AM. Entry forms can be found on the website. Patterns and rosters will be posted on the website the week before the event so look for those and remember to get the entries in as early as possible to reduce the chance of the tournament filling and missing out on your chance to compete.

If you have any questions regarding the upcoming event or about the organization, please contact Jerry Tarabek either by email at [email protected] or by calling 616-780-2095. We look forward to another exciting competition in Clarkston and seeing everyone at Cherry Hill Lanes North.

AVERAGES ::: Ladies229.97 KB
AVERAGES ::: Gentlemen241.85 KB
POINTS ::: Ladies223.89 KB
POINTS ::: Gentlemen233.91 KB
FINAL ::: Ladies175.91 KB
FINAL ::: Gentlemen176.86 KB
RESULTS ::: Top Qualifiers105.01 KB
RESULTS ::: Non-Qualifiers125.45 KB